Band Details

Nu Metal

Pop punk

Alternative rock

Years Active:

1997 - present

Label: None
Website: Chicosci Site
Members: Miguel Chavez
Mong Alcaraz
Ariel Lumanlan
Carlos Calderon
Joel Salvador
GrooveNet Desktop Player
Listen to music right on your desktop with the GrooveNet streaming MP3 Music & Lyrics Player.
About Chicosci

Chicosci is a 5 piece band based in Manila. The band is composed of Miggy Chavez, Carlos Calderon, Joel Salvador and Mong Alcaraz. They found a new member Ariel Lumanlan on November 2007 to lead as a guitarist after Sonny Baquisal's departure as a guitarist.sence of Mojofly when it first started was never totally felt.


"Chicosci" is short for Chico Science. They were first named Chico Science in homage to the Brazilian musician of same name. They later shortened this to Chicosci in order to avoid confusion with the Brazilian



What started out as a group of young college kids from the Ateneo de Manila University, Chicosci was originally composed of Miguel Chavez, Mong Alcaraz, Carlos Calderon, and Joel Salvador. The four enjoyed playing together so much that they decided to take their music seriously by recruiting guitarist Sonny Baquisal and long-time friend Eugene Esquivias to solidify the songwriting process. Chicosci won an interschool Battle of the Bands and spent the prize money in recording a demo - an investment that landed them a two-album record deal with EMI-Virgin Philippines. The band released the albums Revenge of the Giant Robot (2000) and Method of Breathing (2002).


The highly-successful debut record established Chicosci as one of the forerunners of the new generation of rock. Revenge spawned hits such as Amen, Soopafly, and the MTV hit, Sink or Swim. This album was also nominated to the prestigious Awit Awards for Best Rock Recording. Their first-ever music video Sink or Swim, directed by Lyle Sacris, also won as the Best Directed Video for the 2001 MTV Pilipinas Awards.


Never satisfied and always trying out new things, the band continued to work on redefining their sound. Shifting their musical direction to a more melodic style, they sought Raimund Marasigan (Eraserheads and Sandwich) for guidance in working with their second album. True enough, both audiences and critics embraced the new sound of Chicosci. Method of Breathing included several hits such as Glass is Broken, Rolento, and the highly-infectious Paris. Interestingly, Paris holds the record for the most number of weeks a song (foreign or local) has stayed in a countdown. It stayed in the NU107 Midnight Countdown for more than 52 weeks and giving Chicosci the Song of the Year award at the 2002 NU 107 Rock Awards.

In 2004, the band released their third album, Icarus, under Viva Records. The band again enlisted the help of Raimund Marasigan, who tagged along Buddy Zabala (Eraserheads and The Dawn), to produce the bands most experimental album. In May 2004, the band gained media recognition by becoming MTVs Lokal Artist of the Month. The songs Theme from Conversation with Fire, Shallow Graves, and An Argument, enjoyed media airtime, also went into the NU 107 Midnight Countdown and Year-end Countdown.

Last June 6, 2006, Chicosci released and launched their self-titled fourth album. Having been in the studio for more than a year, the band boasts it as being their best work to date. A self-produced effort, the band again attempts to give listeners something new to look forward to. Focusing more on catchier melodies and earnest lyrics, the new album redefines the bands already distinct sound with MTV-generation pop sensibilities. With this new record, the band hopes to further expand its fanbase and touch those who might share the bands life experiences.

With the release of their carrier single A Promise, Chicosci gained more popularity as their market grew. Chicosci is busy promoting the album through gigs and events here in Manila and in the provinces as well. Aside from this, they continue to play for annual school fairs, corporate events, and variety shows. Upcoming gigs also include dates around the country - Laguna, Pampanga, Baguio, Bicol, Olongapo, Cebu, Iloilo, Cagayan de Oro, and Davao, among others.